018. French Bread

I was about to write this recipe on my facebook when I remembered I have a blog.  I posted another recipe on there that I created that I will be transferring here later. Any who, this recipe has been altered from simplyscratch.com.  I decided to add a few things :).  I have made this bread a couple of times for my family and they have loved it.  I usually make my own butter with it (which i learned here).

Image

Ingredients

  • 3c. bread flour
  • 1tb. corn meal
  • 1 packet yeast
  • 3/4c. salt
  • 1c. warm water
  • 1 egg white
  • 1tb. water

In your mixing bowl, add warm water and yeast and let it sit for 5 minutes.  When the 5 minutes are up, add all the ingredients and mix until dough forms.  Use cooking spray to spray hands and surface and take dough from bowl and kneed.  Spray bowl with cooking spray and place dough in bowl with a dish towel on top.  Let sit for about an hour or until dough doubles in size.  Press or “punch” it down to deflate it.  Form into a french bread shape on a greased cookie sheet.  Mix egg white and water and spread on top of formed dough.  Place in cool oven and then set the temp to preheat at 375 degrees.  Bake for 30-35 minutes.  When done, place on rack to cool.

I never realized how easy it was to make my own bread.  Pfft who needs to buy bread when you can make it on your own.. haha.

Leave a Reply

